Apple Is Patching Three Different Versions of macOS at the Same Time

Macbook
Image: Apple

Apple’s security releases index shows three separate versions of macOS, Tahoe, Sequoia and Sonoma, all receiving security updates within the same short windows across July and August 2026. That is a pattern visible in Apple’s own table, not a policy Apple has stated about how many macOS versions it supports at once.

Apple M6 Mac Mini
The Mac mini with Apple's M6 chip runs macOS Tahoe, the current branch. Image: Apple

Apple has not published a document saying it maintains three concurrent macOS branches. The only evidence is the dates lining up, release after release, on the security index at support.apple.com/en-us/100100.

Key facts

ReleasemacOS versionDate
macOS Tahoe 26.6.2Tahoe (current)Aug 17, 2026
macOS Tahoe 26.6.1TahoeAug 6, 2026
macOS Sequoia 15.7.9SequoiaAug 6, 2026
macOS Sonoma 14.8.9SonomaAug 6, 2026
macOS Tahoe 26.6, Sequoia 15.7.8, Sonoma 14.8.8All threeJul 27, 2026
Apple logo
Apple's own security releases index is the only public record of this pattern. Image: Apple

The August pattern, from Apple’s own table

On August 6, 2026, Apple’s index lists three separate updates dated the same day: macOS Tahoe 26.6.1, macOS Sequoia 15.7.9 and macOS Sonoma 14.8.9. On July 27, 2026, it lists macOS Tahoe 26.6, macOS Sequoia 15.7.8 and macOS Sonoma 14.8.8, again the same day, again all three versions. Tahoe is the current release that ships on new Macs; Sequoia is one version back; Sonoma is two versions back. All three kept receiving fixes through the same stretch of weeks.

Don’t miss the best of The Mac Observer

Set us as a preferred source and our Apple reporting ranks higher in your Google Search results and Discover feed — one tap, no account changes.

Or get it by email
Apple iPhone 18 Pro Photos app Apple Reference Image
iOS follows a simpler two-branch version of the same idea. Image: Apple

Safari moves on its own for the two older versions

Safari updates appear as their own line in Apple’s index, but only for Sonoma and Sequoia. Safari 26.6.1 is listed as available for “macOS Sonoma and macOS Sequoia” on August 18, 2026, one day after Tahoe’s own 26.6.2 update. Safari 26.6 is listed the same way on July 27, 2026, the same day as that month’s Tahoe, Sequoia and Sonoma updates. Tahoe does not get a separate Safari line in the index at all, because its browser fix already travels inside the Tahoe point release itself. On the two older, still-supported versions, the same fix ships as its own download instead.

Safari’s separate releases

Safari releaseAvailable forDate
Safari 26.6.1macOS Sonoma and macOS SequoiaAug 18, 2026
Safari 26.6macOS Sonoma and macOS SequoiaJul 27, 2026
Safari 26.5.2macOS Sonoma and macOS SequoiaJun 29, 2026
Safari 26.5macOS Sonoma and macOS SequoiaMay 13, 2026

Three branches, never named as a rule

Apple’s security page does not contain a sentence stating that it patches the current macOS version plus two earlier ones. That structure is only visible by lining up the dates the way this table does. It is worth comparing with iOS, which this week shows two branches rather than three: the current iOS 26.6.2 line and a separate iOS 18.7.10 line for four older devices, a simpler picture than macOS’s three. iOS 27, arriving Monday, September 14, becomes the new current branch on that side once it ships, the same role Tahoe already plays for the Mac. Apple’s September event did not mention macOS’s version structure at all, since it was a hardware event built around iPhone 18 Pro and other new products, including Apple Watch Series 12, rather than the software already running on Macs already sold.

What this means for someone still on Sonoma or Sequoia

As of the most recent entries on Apple’s index, Sonoma and Sequoia are both still receiving fixes, and neither has dropped out of the table between May and September 2026. Apple has not published how long that continues, has not published a date on which either version stops appearing, and has not stated a maximum number of concurrent branches as a rule. It has also not said whether three is a fixed ceiling or simply what the calendar happens to show this year. The only honest description is the one the table itself supports: three versions, patched together, for now, with no published end point attached to any of them.

What Apple has not said

Apple has not stated how many macOS versions it intends to patch concurrently, has not explained why Safari ships as a separate download only on the two older versions, and has not published a date on which macOS Sonoma or macOS Sequoia will stop receiving updates.

As of Saturday, September 12, 2026, the pattern above reflects Apple’s published index only through its most recent entries. Anyone running an older Mac should check support.apple.com/en-us/100100 directly for the current state, since Apple has not committed to a schedule beyond what that page shows on any given day.