Apple says buyers who purchase iPhone 18 Pro or iPhone 18 Pro Max can unlock three free months of Apple One, but the offer itself does not open until September 17, two days after pre-orders began and one day before the phones reach stores. That date, and the exact eligibility wording around it, comes from Apple’s own September 11 Newsroom post.
What Apple’s September 11 post says about Apple One
Under a section headed “Try Apple One,” Apple’s post states: “New and qualified returning subscribers who purchase iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max can unlock three months of Apple One for free.” It continues: “This offer is available in select countries and regions with eligible new iPhone, iPad, or Mac devices beginning September 17. Service availability varies by region.” Both sentences are quoted exactly as Apple published them.
| Question | What Apple states |
|---|---|
| Offer opens | September 17, 2026 |
| Who qualifies | “New and qualified returning subscribers” |
| Purchase requirement | Eligible new iPhone, iPad or Mac |
| Countries | “Select countries and regions”; none named |
| Source | Apple Newsroom, September 11, 2026 |
Who counts as a qualified returning subscriber
Apple’s own phrase is the entire published definition. The post does not say how long someone must have been unsubscribed to count as “qualified returning,” and it does not list an exclusion for current subscribers beyond the word “new” doing that work by implication. Anyone trying to work out their own eligibility has only that one sentence to go on, because no supporting Apple support article on Apple One’s promotional terms was found alongside it.
Don’t miss the best of The Mac Observer
Set us as a preferred source and our Apple reporting ranks higher in your Google Search results and Discover feed — one tap, no account changes.
Why the start date sits between pre-order and delivery
The sequence Apple has published puts the Apple One offer’s start date inside the launch week rather than at either end of it. Pre-orders for iPhone 18 Pro and Pro Max opened September 12. iOS 27 arrives September 14. The Apple One offer opens September 17. Phones reach stores and doorsteps September 18. Apple’s wording ties eligibility to the purchase, not to activating the new device, so the window it prints opens a day before the earliest delivery date it has published for either phone.
| Date | What happens, per Apple |
|---|---|
| September 12 | iPhone 18 Pro and Pro Max pre-orders open |
| September 14 | iOS 27 becomes available |
| September 17 | Apple One three-month offer opens |
| September 18 | iPhone 18 Pro and Pro Max in stores |
What the free three months does not cover
Apple’s post ties the offer to a purchase of iPhone 18 Pro or Pro Max specifically; it does not mention Apple Watch Series 12, Ultra 4 or AirPods 5 as qualifying products on their own, even though the same post covers all three. It also does not state whether buying an iPhone 18 Pro during the second wave of countries on September 25, rather than in this first wave, still counts, since the sentence names no cutoff date for the purchase itself, only for the offer’s opening.
What Apple has not said
Apple has not defined “qualified returning subscriber” beyond that phrase, has not named which countries and regions are included, has not stated how long the redemption window stays open after September 17, and has not said whether a purchase of iPhone Duo in October would qualify under the same terms.
Buyers who pre-ordered iPhone 18 Pro or Pro Max can check for the redemption prompt in the Apple Store app or in Settings starting September 17, the date Apple itself has published, rather than assuming it appears the moment an order is placed or a phone arrives.