The iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max have a next-generation vapor chamber attached directly to the A20 Pro chip, and Apple says it delivers about three times the cooling performance of the previous design.
The cooling upgrade arrives with Apple’s first 2-nanometer chip, which has a 7-core GPU up to 40 percent faster than the A19 Pro and a 32-core Neural Engine with double the AI processing. Keeping that chip cool is what lets it hold those speeds, and it is a detail that got less attention than the camera in Apple’s iPhone 18 Pro announcement.
What Apple changed in the vapor chamber
A vapor chamber moves heat away from a chip by evaporating and condensing a liquid inside a sealed, flat enclosure. Apple’s press release says the new one is attached directly to the A20 Pro rather than sitting elsewhere in the chassis.
Don’t miss the best of The Mac Observer
Set us as a preferred source and our Apple reporting ranks higher in your Google Search results and Discover feed — one tap, no account changes.
Apple cites about three times the cooling performance of the prior design. It has not published dimensions, materials or the test method behind that figure.
- Attached directly to the A20 Pro chip
- About three times the cooling performance of the previous design, according to Apple
- Present on both the 6.3-inch iPhone 18 Pro and the 6.9-inch iPhone 18 Pro Max
- No exterior design change to accommodate it; the design carries over from the iPhone 17 Pro with a new rear finish
Why sustained performance matters
Peak speed is what a chip can do for a few seconds. Sustained performance is what it can do ten minutes into a game, a long video export or an on-device AI task, once heat builds up and the phone has to decide whether to slow down.
Better cooling means the chip can stay closer to its peak for longer. That matters more on the iPhone 18 Pro than before because Apple has given the A20 Pro more to do: Cinematic effects at up to 60 fps, 4K Dolby Vision HDR time-lapse, and Siri AI running on-device through Apple Intelligence.
Apple has not published sustained benchmark figures or said how long the A20 Pro holds its peak clock speeds, so the three-times figure is the only number available until the phones are tested.
A20 Pro specs behind the heat
| Component | A20 Pro | Compared with A19 Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Process | 2 nanometer, Apple’s first | Not stated by Apple |
| CPU | 6 cores (2 performance, 4 efficiency) with integrated Neural Accelerators | Not stated by Apple |
| GPU | 7 cores | Up to 40 percent faster |
| Neural Engine | Dual 16-core (32 cores) | Double the AI processing |
| Memory bandwidth | Not stated by Apple | 50 percent more |
| Cooling | Vapor chamber attached to the chip | About three times the cooling performance |
Cooling also ties into charging. Apple says both phones reach 50 percent in about 15 minutes wired and 50 percent in 30 minutes wireless, and that five minutes on a cable gives the Pro Max about seven hours of video playback.
The iPhone 18 Pro goes on pre-order Saturday, September 12 at 5 a.m. PT and ships Friday, September 18. It is the first iPhone launched under John Ternus as CEO, and independent thermal testing will show whether the vapor chamber claim holds up outside the keynote.