Google Auto Delete Controls Coming to Platform


Google announced a new privacy feature for its services. Users will now find an option to automatically delete Location History and Web & App Activity. Google auto delete controls will be rolling out in the coming weeks.

GIF of google auto delete options

[Here’s How to Stop Google from Tracking Your Location]

Auto Delete

You still have the option to manually delete your data, but now you can have the service automatically delete it after a set period of time. The options are:

  • Keep until I delete manually
  • Keep for 18 months
  • Keep for 3 months

These new privacy controls will be rolling out in the coming weeks first to Location History and Web & App Activity. Because of the word “first” it implies the company might add this option to more services in the future.

[How to Control Which Apps Can Access Your Google Account]

Don’t miss the best of The Mac Observer

Set us as a preferred source and our Apple reporting ranks higher in your Google Search results and Discover feed — one tap, no account changes.

Or get it by email



Discussion

Join the discussionCommenting as a guest — your email is never published · Log in

Protected by Akismet — be kind, stay on topic.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.