Apple Certified Refurbished is Apple’s own secondhand channel, and Apple publishes real terms for it: a one-year warranty, savings of up to 15 percent, and AppleCare eligibility. What Apple’s own page does not say is identical across every category. A refurbished Mac is covered differently from a refurbished iPad, and the newest iPhone generation is not there at all.

For anyone weighing an older Mac or iPad against a new one, the refurbished store is a real published alternative, with terms worth reading closely before assuming it works like buying new.
Key facts
| Item | What Apple publishes |
|---|---|
| Savings | Up to 15 percent off the original price |
| Warranty | Standard one-year limited warranty |
| Extended coverage | AppleCare products can be purchased separately |
| New battery and outer shell | iPhone and iPad, yes; Mac, not stated |
| What ships in the box | All accessories, cables and operating systems, in new white packaging |
| Shipping and returns | Free, both ways |
| Categories covered | Mac, iPad, iPhone, Watch, AirPods, Apple TV, HomePod, Accessories |
What Apple actually promises
Apple’s own page for the program states special savings of up to 15 percent, a standard one-year limited warranty, and the option of adding AppleCare coverage on top. Every refurbished unit ships with all its original accessories, cables and operating system, packaged in a new white box rather than a used one, with free shipping and free returns. That is the complete set of terms Apple publishes for the program across every category it covers, from Mac and iPad through Apple TV, HomePod and accessories.
Don’t miss the best of The Mac Observer
Set us as a preferred source and our Apple reporting ranks higher in your Google Search results and Discover feed — one tap, no account changes.
The battery and shell promise does not cover Mac
Apple’s language is specific on one point that is easy to misread: refurbished iOS devices come with a new battery and a new outer shell. That commitment applies to iPhone and iPad. Apple’s published wording does not extend the same new-battery, new-shell promise to Mac. A refurbished MacBook or Mac mini still carries the one-year warranty and the AppleCare option, but the battery-and-shell language that applies to iPad does not appear on the Mac side of Apple’s own page.
Where the discount actually lands
| Question | What Apple’s page shows |
|---|---|
| Fixed discount percentage | Not published; up to 15 percent is a ceiling, not a guarantee |
| Per-model refurbished price list | Not published as a static table; stock changes constantly |
| Configuration choice | Limited to whatever units are currently in stock |
| Newest iPhone generation available refurbished | No, as of this week |
Up to 15 percent is Apple’s ceiling figure, and the refurbished storefront’s actual stock and pricing rotate rather than sitting on a fixed list. That rotation cuts both ways: a specific older Mac or iPad configuration might be discounted well under 15 percent one week and closer to the ceiling the next, and Apple does not publish a schedule for when any particular configuration will appear.
Why the newest iPhone generation is not there yet, and how refurbished compares to buying new
Apple only adds a model to the refurbished storefront after it has been on sale for a while, so a device discontinued or replaced this month does not appear there this month. As of this week, the refurbished iPhone storefront’s newest listing is an iPhone 16, at $909 for the 512GB unlocked configuration; no iPhone 17-generation model, including the discontinued iPhone 17 Pro, has appeared in Apple’s refurbished catalogue. The refurbished store’s stock rotates hourly, so that snapshot should be checked again before anyone relies on it, but the pattern behind it, that Apple waits before refurbishing a recently retired model, is the more durable fact.
For an older Mac or iPad specifically, Apple’s refurbished channel is the one route among its own published options that sells a used-but-warrantied unit rather than crediting an old one toward a new purchase. It sits alongside trade-in and the Apple Upgrade lease as one of a small number of Apple-published ways to spend less than the price of a new iPhone 18 Pro or current Mac, without leaving Apple’s own storefront. That matters more this month than usual, since Apple raised prices on most of the iPhone models it kept on sale and discontinued iPhone 17 Pro entirely on the same day.
What Apple has not said
Apple has not published a fixed discount percentage for any specific refurbished Mac or iPad model, has not stated how long a typical model stays listed once it appears, and has not said when, or whether, iPhone 17-generation stock will reach the refurbished store. As of Saturday, September 12, 2026, with the rest of the September lineup arriving September 18, the only reliable step is to check the refurbished storefront directly on the day of any purchase decision, since its stock and pricing are not fixed in advance.
