iOS 27, iPadOS 27, macOS 27 Golden Gate, watchOS 27 and visionOS 27 all arrive Monday, September 14, and Apple has published a device list and headline features for each. tvOS 27 has neither a release date nor a device list on any Apple page, Apple Intelligence’s daily usage limits are never given as a number, and the confirmed future paid tier for expanded access has no price. This is the software ledger of what remains unpublished three days after the keynote.
Monday’s update lands before iPhone 18 Pro, iPhone Duo or Apple Watch reach anyone’s hands, so these are the gaps that matter this weekend regardless of which new device someone is waiting for. For what has shipped, see our iOS 27 release date coverage.
What Apple has confirmed for September 14
Five of the six operating systems in this cycle carry the same one-line confirmation across Apple’s own pages: available starting 9.14. The sixth does not.
Don’t miss the best of The Mac Observer
Set us as a preferred source and our Apple reporting ranks higher in your Google Search results and Discover feed — one tap, no account changes.
| Operating system | Release date Apple states |
|---|---|
| iOS 27 | Monday, September 14 |
| iPadOS 27 | Monday, September 14 |
| macOS 27 Golden Gate | Monday, September 14 |
| watchOS 27 | Monday, September 14 |
| visionOS 27 | Monday, September 14 |
| tvOS 27 | Not stated on any Apple page |
The one date Apple has not given
A release candidate for tvOS 27 shipped to developers on September 9, the same day as the release candidates for the other five operating systems, but no Apple page states a public release date for it, and no Apple page lists which Apple TV models will run it. The apple.com tvOS page redirects to a general television landing page with no version number at all.
Even for the five operating systems that do have a date, Apple has not stated a time of day. Every product page says September 14 and stops there, with no hour and no time zone attached. Apple has also not published a download size, in gigabytes or otherwise, for iOS 27.
Apple Intelligence’s unstated numbers
Apple’s own footnote states that Siri AI, Image Playground, intelligent photo editing tools and the AFM 3 Cloud models in Shortcuts are subject to daily usage limits, and that the limits vary by feature, request complexity and system demand. No specific number, for any feature, in any region, is given anywhere in that footnote or on the Apple Intelligence page it appears on.
The same footnote states that expanded access to those features will be available for a fee in the future. That sentence is the whole of what Apple has said about a paid Apple Intelligence tier. No price and no date accompanies it anywhere in the material Apple has published for this launch.
Siri AI in China, precisely
Apple’s iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone Duo product pages do not mention China when describing Siri AI’s rollout at all. The only sentence Apple has published anywhere linking the two is from its June 8 newsroom release: Siri AI and the other new Apple Intelligence features will not be available in China while Apple works through regulatory requirements. Apple has not named the regulator, given a timeline, or updated that sentence since June.
The update-settling period, unquantified
Apple’s support article on iPhone and iPad battery drain does address post-update behavior, in a section headed for battery life less than expected after an update: it says that if battery life has decreased after updating, wait a few days and check again, because certain tasks related to the update continue in the background and might affect battery life. Apple does not say how many days, and does not name the background task.
| Not published across the software launch | Where it would normally appear |
|---|---|
| tvOS 27 release date and device list | apple.com/tvos (redirects to a generic page) |
| Exact release time, Sept 14 | Each OS product page (states the date only) |
| iOS 27 download size | Software update settings (no figure published) |
| Apple Intelligence daily usage limits, as a number | Apple Intelligence terms footnote (describes, never counts) |
| Price for the future Apple Intelligence paid tier | Same footnote (confirms a fee, states no amount) |
| Length of the post-update battery settling period | Support article 120745 (says a few days, no count) |
What Apple has not said
Apple has not said when tvOS 27 will actually ship, what a day of Apple Intelligence usage is capped at, what the paid tier will cost, or how many days count as a few for a settling battery. Every other date and figure in this cycle, from the September 14 release to the device compatibility lists, moved from unstated to published between June and now, and these six items are the ones still waiting for that same treatment. Our full event recap covers what launched alongside the software.
iOS 27 and its four dated siblings arrive Monday, September 14. tvOS 27 has no confirmed date to watch for, so the honest advice is to check Apple’s tvOS page that day rather than assume it lands at the same moment as the rest.