Apple rated the Apple Watch at up to 18 hours of normal use for four straight generations, from Series 7 in 2021 to Series 10 in 2024. Series 11 moved that to 24 hours last year, Series 12 keeps it, and Apple Watch Ultra 4 is now rated at up to 50 hours.
The more interesting change is charging. The time to 80 percent has fallen from about 45 minutes to about 30 on the Series line, and a 15-minute top-up now buys up to 12 hours instead of 8.
Key facts
| Item | Figure |
|---|---|
| Longest run on the 18-hour rating | Series 7, 8, 9 and 10, plus SE 3 |
| First Series at 24 hours | Series 11 (2025) |
| Series 12 rating | Up to 24 hours, 38 in Low Power Mode |
| Ultra progression | 36 hours, then 42, now 50 |
| Ultra 4 Low Power Mode | Up to 84 hours |
| Fastest 15-minute top-up | Ultra 4, up to 18 hours |
| Series 12 outdoor workout | Up to 10 hours |
From 18 hours to 24 on the Series line
Series 7, Series 8, Series 9 and Series 10 all carry the same headline figure on Apple’s pages: up to 18 hours of normal use. So does the current Apple Watch SE 3 at $249.
Don’t miss the best of The Mac Observer
Set us as a preferred source and our Apple reporting ranks higher in your Google Search results and Discover feed — one tap, no account changes.
What moved underneath it was Low Power Mode. Apple’s pages for Series 7 and Series 8 mention the mode without stating hours, while Series 9 and Series 10 are rated at up to 36 hours and SE 3 at up to 32.
Series 11 broke the pattern in September 2025 with up to 24 hours, and up to 38 hours in Low Power Mode. Series 12 arrives this month with exactly the same two figures.
Series 12 adds a workout rating on top: up to 10 hours of outdoor workout, which Apple describes as 25 percent more than before.
That combination is what makes overnight wear practical. A 24-hour rating with a 12-hour top-up from 15 minutes on the charger is a watch you can sleep in and still charge in the time it takes to shower.
Ultra: 36 hours to 42 to 50
The first Apple Watch Ultra was rated at up to 36 hours in 2022 and up to 72 in Low Power Mode, and Ultra 2 in 2023 carried the same pair. Neither is sold by Apple now. The lineup after September 9 is three watches: SE 3, Series 12 and Ultra 4.
Ultra 3 raised normal use to 42 hours last year, and Ultra 4 now claims up to 50 hours, with 84 in Low Power Mode. Apple describes the 50-hour figure as more than two days.
Ultra 4 also adds workout modes the Series line does not have: up to 18 hours of outdoor workout, up to 25 hours in Extended Workout mode, and up to 45 hours in a new Max Extended Workout mode with one-second GPS intervals, aimed at 100-mile races.
Every rating Apple has published since 2021
| Model | Normal use | Low Power Mode | Charge to 80 percent |
|---|---|---|---|
| Series 7 (2021) | Up to 18 hours | Hours not stated | About 45 minutes |
| Series 8 (2022) | Up to 18 hours | Hours not stated | About 45 minutes |
| Ultra (2022) | Up to 36 hours | Up to 72 hours | About 45 minutes |
| Series 9 (2023) | Up to 18 hours | Up to 36 hours | About 45 minutes |
| Ultra 2 (2023) | Up to 36 hours | Up to 72 hours | About 1 hour |
| Series 10 (2024) | Up to 18 hours | Up to 36 hours | About 30 minutes |
| Series 11 (2025) | Up to 24 hours | Up to 38 hours | About 30 minutes |
| SE 3 (2025) | Up to 18 hours | Up to 32 hours | About 45 minutes |
| Ultra 3 (2025) | Up to 42 hours | Up to 72 hours | About 45 minutes |
| Series 12 (2026) | Up to 24 hours | Up to 38 hours | About 30 minutes |
| Ultra 4 (2026) | Up to 50 hours | Up to 84 hours | About 45 minutes |
The 45-minute figures for Series 7, Series 8 and the first Ultra come from Apple’s comparison page rather than their tech specs sheets, which give no numeric charge time at all.
What the hours do not tell you
Every figure above is Apple’s own rating under its own test conditions, and Apple has not published the test used for any of them. They are useful for comparing one Apple Watch with another and for nothing else.
Workout hours are the number to read if you train. Series 12 is rated for up to 10 hours of outdoor workout against 18 on Ultra 4, a gap far wider than the 24 against 50 on the headline figures.
Short top-ups are also rated separately. Series 12 lists five minutes on the charger for up to 10 hours of sleep tracking, and Ultra 4 lists the same five-minute claim.
What Apple has not said
Apple has not published Low Power Mode hours for Series 7 or Series 8, a swim or dive battery figure for any model, or an Extended Workout rating for the Series line.
There is also no published battery capacity in milliamp hours for any Apple Watch, and no published figure for how long a battery holds its rating over years of charging.
watchOS 27 arrives as a free update on Monday, September 14, and Series 12 and Ultra 4 reach stores on Friday, September 18. Whether the new software changes any of these ratings on older watches, Apple has not said.