The iPhone 18 Pro charges to 50 percent in around 15 minutes with a 60W USB-C adapter, to 50 percent in 30 minutes with a 35W adapter plus MagSafe, and at up to 25W over MagSafe or Qi2. Those are Apple’s charging figures from the iPhone 18 Pro tech specs, and none of the adapters is in the box.
Apple’s press release quoted the 15-minute and 30-minute figures without saying which adapters they needed, a gap we flagged in our iPhone 18 Pro battery explainer. The tech specs now put wattages against each claim, which changes what you should buy.
iPhone 18 Pro charging options compared
| Method | Adapter Apple cites | Apple’s claim | Included |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wired USB-C | 60W USB-C adapter | Up to 50 percent in around 15 minutes | No |
| MagSafe | 35W adapter plus MagSafe charger | Up to 50 percent in 30 minutes | No |
| MagSafe peak | Not specified | Up to 25W | No |
| Qi2 | Not specified | Up to 25W | No |
| In the box | None | 1 m USB-C cable only | Cable yes, adapter no |
Apple’s tech specs list the iPhone with iOS 27 and a 1 m USB-C cable as the box contents. Every adapter and charger above is sold separately, and Apple’s spec page marks the 60W adapter as such.
Don’t miss the best of The Mac Observer
Set us as a preferred source and our Apple reporting ranks higher in your Google Search results and Discover feed — one tap, no account changes.
The 60W claim: 50 percent in 15 minutes
The fastest figure Apple publishes depends on a 60W USB-C adapter. Apple’s tech specs tie the 15-minute claim to that wattage specifically, so a lower-powered adapter should not be expected to match it.
Apple has not published the maximum wattage the iPhone 18 Pro actually draws, or charge times for adapters between 35W and 60W. It also has not said whether an adapter above 60W charges any faster, so 60W is the only wired figure on record.
Apple’s press release adds one more wired data point: five minutes on a cable gives the iPhone 18 Pro Max about seven hours of video playback. The release does not say which adapter that figure assumes.
35W plus MagSafe: 50 percent in 30 minutes
Apple’s wireless figure is 50 percent in 30 minutes, and the tech specs attach a 35W adapter feeding a MagSafe charger to it. That is twice the time of the wired route, for the convenience of a magnetic puck rather than a cable in the port.
MagSafe itself tops out at 25W on the iPhone 18 Pro, per Apple’s tech specs. The 35W adapter figure is about what the MagSafe charger needs on the wall side, not what reaches the phone.
Qi2 at 25W
Qi2 chargers are listed at up to 25W, the same peak as MagSafe. Apple’s tech specs do not attach a 50-percent time to Qi2, so we cannot say whether a Qi2 pad matches MagSafe’s 30-minute figure in practice.
- Fastest: 60W USB-C adapter, 50 percent in around 15 minutes
- Wireless: 35W adapter plus MagSafe, 50 percent in 30 minutes
- MagSafe and Qi2 peak: 25W each
- Nothing in the box charges the phone on its own; you need an adapter
What to buy
If you want the 15-minute figure, the adapter needs to be 60W or more, and a 35W adapter is the floor for the published MagSafe time. Anyone reusing an older, lower-wattage adapter should expect slower charging than either claim, though Apple has not published figures for those cases.
The same charging specs apply to both sizes, so the choice between the Pro and Pro Max does not affect what you buy. Battery ratings differ (24 hours typical use on the Pro, 30 on the Pro Max), which we break down in our iPhone 18 Pro vs Pro Max comparison. Apple has not published prices for the 60W or 35W adapters alongside the phone.