Question about Academic Licenses and Discounts.

• Posted: 08 April 2009 03:45 AM

Hello,
    I’m a college student student currently studying film. I recently purchased a Macbook Pro last October and have been enjoying it every since. I’m glad to have switched to the Mac. Well, I’ve been looking at buying Final Cut Studio to do video editing, and until recently was thinking of using my academic discount. However, I now realize that the academic licenses do not allow for commercial use. I’m willing to purchase the regular version but wonder If the academic discount I used to purchase my Macbook Pro affects my ability to use it in any way. Intuitively, I doubt that the academic discount on the Macbook Pro would restrict my use now and after I graduate, but given the academic license terms found on software like Office for Mac and Final Cut, I wasn’t sure. Also, I wondered if buying future versions of the OS, ILife, etc under academic pricing would restrict my use.

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Posted: 08 April 2009 11:49 AM #1

In theory, yes it does restrict your use according to the terms in the license agreement. However, there is nothing physically or digitally preventing you from using them in any way you see fit except for the license agreement. The software is not crippled in any way (it is the same as the retail version). At least as far as I have seen.

Signature

Mac switchers see my profile for switching help…

• Posted: 16 April 2009 06:31 PM #2

A common tactic used by software manufacturers is that Academic licensed software isn’t eligible for upgrades. I know Adobe does this; when you can get CS4 Design Premium for $400 in Academic pricing, Adobe just makes you buy the whole thing again if you want to upgrade later. Functionally the software is never any different.

Signature

Less is More (more or less).

• Posted: 19 May 2009 02:27 AM #3