John Ternus hosted Apple’s “Surprise and shine” event at Apple Park on September 9, his first keynote since he succeeded Tim Cook as CEO on September 1. The event produced the iPhone 18 Pro from $1,199, AirPods 5 from $129 and, according to keynote coverage, an iPhone Duo foldable priced at about $2,000. Cook remains…
Apple Event
AirPods 5 Multiport Acoustic Architecture: The AirPods Pro 3 Idea Behind the New Noise Cancellation
AirPods 5 introduce a multiport acoustic architecture, a design Apple says was inspired by AirPods Pro 3, and Apple credits it, together with improved computational audio, for Active Noise Cancellation that removes up to 50 percent more noise than AirPods 4 with ANC. The earbuds cost $129, or $149 with the Wireless Charging Case. Open-ear…
AirPods 5 Hands-Free Siri AI: What It Can Do and Which iPhone You Need
AirPods 5 support hands-free Siri AI, Apple’s new Siri, but the feature carries two requirements: iOS 27 and an Apple Intelligence iPhone. iOS 27 arrives Monday, September 14 as a free update, four days before the $129 earbuds reach stores on September 18. Siri AI launches in beta, and in English only at first. That…
AirPods 5 Force Sensor: How Swipe Volume Works, and Why Only One Model Gets It
AirPods 5 with Wireless Charging Case add a force sensor with swipe volume control, which Apple calls a first for its open-ear earbuds. The feature is exclusive to the $149 model; the $129 AirPods 5 do not get it. Volume adjustment has been the gap in the standard AirPods control scheme, with wearers reaching for…
AirPods 5 Personalized Spatial Audio and Adaptive EQ: What Changed in the Sound
AirPods 5 arrive with next-generation Adaptive EQ and Personalized Spatial Audio, two sound features Apple listed alongside Active Noise Cancellation in its September 9 press release. The earbuds start at $129, or $149 with the Wireless Charging Case, and reach stores on Friday, September 18. Most of the attention has gone to the noise cancellation,…
iPhone 18 Pro Release Day: What to Expect on September 18 at Apple Stores and Online
iPhone 18 Pro goes on sale Friday, September 18 in more than 65 countries and regions, nine days after Apple announced it. Twenty more countries follow on Friday, September 25. Release day involves three groups: pre-order customers waiting for deliveries, pre-order customers collecting in store, and walk-in buyers hoping for stock. Here is what Apple…
iPhone Pro Price History: How iPhone 18 Pro's $1,199 Compares With Every Pro Since iPhone 15 Pro
iPhone 18 Pro starts at $1,199 and iPhone 18 Pro Max at $1,299, the highest starting prices in the Pro line so far. Both are $100 more than last year, and the Pro is now $200 above where the iPhone 15 Pro started in 2023. Apple has raised Pro pricing in two of the last…
Is iPhone 18 Pro Worth $1,199? The Case For and Against Buying One
iPhone 18 Pro costs $1,199, $100 more than the iPhone 17 Pro did a year ago, and the 6.9-inch Pro Max is $1,299. Apple’s monthly option works out to $49.95 for 24 months on the Pro and $54.12 on the Pro Max. A price increase invites the obvious question, and the answer depends on what…
iPhone 18 Pro or Wait for iPhone Duo? How to Decide Between Apple's Two New iPhones
Apple announced two new iPhones on September 9: the iPhone 18 Pro, from $1,199 and shipping September 18, and the iPhone Duo, its first foldable, which according to the keynote starts at about $2,000 and arrives in October. For anyone ready to buy a flagship this fall, that is an $800 gap and roughly a…
Which iPhone 18 Pro Color Should You Buy? Black, Silver, Glacier or Burgundy
iPhone 18 Pro comes in four colors: Black, Silver, Glacier and Burgundy. All four are offered on both the 6.3-inch Pro and the 6.9-inch Pro Max at the same price, from $1,199 and $1,299 respectively. Color is the one choice you cannot change after purchase without a return, and this year’s palette is a clear…
iPhone 18 Pro pre-order checklist: 7 things to sort out before you order
iPhone 18 Pro pre-orders start Saturday, September 12 at 5 a.m. PT, with prices from $1,199 for the 6.3-inch model and $1,299 for the 6.9-inch Pro Max. Orders placed in the opening minutes are the ones most likely to arrive on Friday, September 18. Both models cost $100 more than last year, and there are…
How to Pre-Order iPhone 18 Pro on September 12: Apple Store App, Website and Carrier Tips
iPhone 18 Pro pre-orders open Saturday, September 12 at 5 a.m. PT. The 6.3-inch iPhone 18 Pro starts at $1,199 and the 6.9-inch iPhone 18 Pro Max at $1,299, both with 256GB, and the first deliveries arrive Friday, September 18. You can order through the Apple Store app, apple.com or a carrier. All three sell…
iPhone 18 Pro GPU: 40% Faster Graphics, and What It Means for Gaming
The A20 Pro chip in the iPhone 18 Pro has a 7-core GPU that Apple says is up to 40 percent faster than the A19 Pro. It is the headline graphics number from Apple’s announcement, and the one gamers will care about most. Apple has not said whether the gain comes from more cores, higher…
iPhone 18 Pro Memory Bandwidth: Why 50% More Matters for AI, Games and the Camera
Apple says the A20 Pro in the iPhone 18 Pro has 50 percent more memory bandwidth than last year’s A19 Pro. It is one of the least discussed numbers from the announcement, and one that touches nearly everything else on the spec sheet. Apple has not specified the amount of RAM, the memory type or…
iOS 27 Release Time: When the September 14 Update Will Likely Land Where You Live
iOS 27 arrives on Monday, September 14, as a free update, Apple confirmed in today’s press release. Apple has not stated a release time, but its iOS updates have usually gone live at around 10 a.m. Pacific, which points to early afternoon on the US east coast, evening in Europe and the small hours of…
iOS 27 New Features Announced at the Event: Image Playground, Safari Notify Me, iPhone Handoff and More
iOS 27 arrives on Monday, September 14, as a free update, and Apple’s press release for today’s event names five additions beyond the new Siri: Image Playground with photorealistic images, Safari Notify Me, iPhone Handoff, Apple Reference Image and the Siri AI beta itself. Apple has not published a full feature list for the release.…
iPhone 18 Pro Neural Engine: What a 32-Core Dual Neural Engine Does for Apple Intelligence
The A20 Pro chip in the iPhone 18 Pro includes a dual 16-core Neural Engine, 32 cores in total, which Apple says delivers double the AI processing of last year’s A19 Pro. It arrives five days before Siri AI enters beta with iOS 27 on September 14. Apple’s answer to more demanding on-device AI was…
Siri AI Beta in iOS 27: Languages, Dates and Which iPhones Get It First
Apple’s new Siri, which the company calls Siri AI, launches in beta with iOS 27 on Monday, September 14, in English only. Five more languages follow in October: French, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese and Spanish, according to Apple’s press release. The staggered rollout is the clearest signal yet of how Apple is pacing the assistant. It…
AirPods 5 Adaptive Audio, Transparency and Conversation Awareness Explained
AirPods 5 bring Adaptive Audio, Transparency mode and Conversation Awareness to Apple’s open-ear earbuds alongside the headline Active Noise Cancellation, according to Apple’s press release. The three listening modes ship on both the $129 AirPods 5 and the $149 AirPods 5 with Wireless Charging Case, in stores on Friday, September 18. The reason these modes…
AirPods 5 Water Resistance: What Apple's Improved Dust, Sweat and Water Protection Means for Workouts
AirPods 5 have improved dust, sweat and water resistance, Apple said in its press release today, and Apple’s AirPods 5 spec page rates them IP57. The $129 AirPods 5 and $149 AirPods 5 with Wireless Charging Case pre-order today, September 9, and reach stores on Friday, September 18. The wording matters. The release itself gives…
AirPods 5 Wireless Charging Case: Apple Watch Charger, Qi and USB-C Explained, Plus Swipe Volume
The $149 AirPods 5 with Wireless Charging Case charges from three kinds of power source: Apple Watch chargers, Qi wireless chargers and a USB-C cable, according to Apple’s press release. The case also carries a force sensor with swipe volume control, which Apple calls a first for the open-ear form factor. That combination is what…
iPhone 18 Pro mmWave 5G and the C2 Modem: Why US Buyers Get a Slightly Different Phone
The iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max use Apple’s C2 modem, which Apple says uses 15 percent less energy than the C1X. mmWave 5G is included in the US, and Apple has not listed it for any other country. Add the fact that the US model is eSIM-only with no SIM tray, and…
iPhone 18 Pro Wi-Fi 7 Explained: What the N1 Chip Changes for Your Home Network
The iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max use Apple’s N1 chip for wireless, which handles Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6 and Thread. Apple has not quoted any speed figures for the connection. Wi-Fi 7 is a label on the spec sheet for most buyers, so the practical question is what it does once the…
iPhone 18 Pro Recycled Materials Explained: 85% Recycled Aluminum, 100% Recycled Cobalt and 40% Recycled Content Overall
Apple says the iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max are built with 40 percent recycled content overall, including an enclosure made from 85 percent recycled aluminum and a battery that uses 100 percent recycled cobalt. The packaging is 100 percent fiber-based. Those are the four environmental figures in Apple’s release, and they are…





