iPhone 18 Pro starts at $1,199 and iPhone 18 Pro Max at $1,299, the highest starting prices in the Pro line so far. Both are $100 more than last year, and the Pro is now $200 above where the iPhone 15 Pro started in 2023. Apple has raised Pro pricing in two of the last…
Tips
Is iPhone 18 Pro Worth $1,199? The Case For and Against Buying One
iPhone 18 Pro costs $1,199, $100 more than the iPhone 17 Pro did a year ago, and the 6.9-inch Pro Max is $1,299. Apple’s monthly option works out to $49.95 for 24 months on the Pro and $54.12 on the Pro Max. A price increase invites the obvious question, and the answer depends on what…
iPhone 18 Pro or Wait for iPhone Duo? How to Decide Between Apple's Two New iPhones
Apple announced two new iPhones on September 9: the iPhone 18 Pro, from $1,199 and shipping September 18, and the iPhone Duo, its first foldable, which according to the keynote starts at about $2,000 and arrives in October. For anyone ready to buy a flagship this fall, that is an $800 gap and roughly a…
Which iPhone 18 Pro Color Should You Buy? Black, Silver, Glacier or Burgundy
iPhone 18 Pro comes in four colors: Black, Silver, Glacier and Burgundy. All four are offered on both the 6.3-inch Pro and the 6.9-inch Pro Max at the same price, from $1,199 and $1,299 respectively. Color is the one choice you cannot change after purchase without a return, and this year’s palette is a clear…
iPhone 18 Pro pre-order checklist: 7 things to sort out before you order
iPhone 18 Pro pre-orders start Saturday, September 12 at 5 a.m. PT, with prices from $1,199 for the 6.3-inch model and $1,299 for the 6.9-inch Pro Max. Orders placed in the opening minutes are the ones most likely to arrive on Friday, September 18. Both models cost $100 more than last year, and there are…
How to Pre-Order iPhone 18 Pro on September 12: Apple Store App, Website and Carrier Tips
iPhone 18 Pro pre-orders open Saturday, September 12 at 5 a.m. PT. The 6.3-inch iPhone 18 Pro starts at $1,199 and the 6.9-inch iPhone 18 Pro Max at $1,299, both with 256GB, and the first deliveries arrive Friday, September 18. You can order through the Apple Store app, apple.com or a carrier. All three sell…
iPhone 18 Pro GPU: 40% Faster Graphics, and What It Means for Gaming
The A20 Pro chip in the iPhone 18 Pro has a 7-core GPU that Apple says is up to 40 percent faster than the A19 Pro. It is the headline graphics number from Apple’s announcement, and the one gamers will care about most. Apple has not said whether the gain comes from more cores, higher…
iPhone 18 Pro Memory Bandwidth: Why 50% More Matters for AI, Games and the Camera
Apple says the A20 Pro in the iPhone 18 Pro has 50 percent more memory bandwidth than last year’s A19 Pro. It is one of the least discussed numbers from the announcement, and one that touches nearly everything else on the spec sheet. Apple has not specified the amount of RAM, the memory type or…
iOS 27 Release Time: When the September 14 Update Will Likely Land Where You Live
iOS 27 arrives on Monday, September 14, as a free update, Apple confirmed in today’s press release. Apple has not stated a release time, but its iOS updates have usually gone live at around 10 a.m. Pacific, which points to early afternoon on the US east coast, evening in Europe and the small hours of…
iOS 27 New Features Announced at the Event: Image Playground, Safari Notify Me, iPhone Handoff and More
iOS 27 arrives on Monday, September 14, as a free update, and Apple’s press release for today’s event names five additions beyond the new Siri: Image Playground with photorealistic images, Safari Notify Me, iPhone Handoff, Apple Reference Image and the Siri AI beta itself. Apple has not published a full feature list for the release.…
iPhone 18 Pro Neural Engine: What a 32-Core Dual Neural Engine Does for Apple Intelligence
The A20 Pro chip in the iPhone 18 Pro includes a dual 16-core Neural Engine, 32 cores in total, which Apple says delivers double the AI processing of last year’s A19 Pro. It arrives five days before Siri AI enters beta with iOS 27 on September 14. Apple’s answer to more demanding on-device AI was…
Siri AI Beta in iOS 27: Languages, Dates and Which iPhones Get It First
Apple’s new Siri, which the company calls Siri AI, launches in beta with iOS 27 on Monday, September 14, in English only. Five more languages follow in October: French, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese and Spanish, according to Apple’s press release. The staggered rollout is the clearest signal yet of how Apple is pacing the assistant. It…
AirPods 5 Adaptive Audio, Transparency and Conversation Awareness Explained
AirPods 5 bring Adaptive Audio, Transparency mode and Conversation Awareness to Apple’s open-ear earbuds alongside the headline Active Noise Cancellation, according to Apple’s press release. The three listening modes ship on both the $129 AirPods 5 and the $149 AirPods 5 with Wireless Charging Case, in stores on Friday, September 18. The reason these modes…
AirPods 5 Water Resistance: What Apple's Improved Dust, Sweat and Water Protection Means for Workouts
AirPods 5 have improved dust, sweat and water resistance, Apple said in its press release today, and Apple’s AirPods 5 spec page rates them IP57. The $129 AirPods 5 and $149 AirPods 5 with Wireless Charging Case pre-order today, September 9, and reach stores on Friday, September 18. The wording matters. The release itself gives…
AirPods 5 Wireless Charging Case: Apple Watch Charger, Qi and USB-C Explained, Plus Swipe Volume
The $149 AirPods 5 with Wireless Charging Case charges from three kinds of power source: Apple Watch chargers, Qi wireless chargers and a USB-C cable, according to Apple’s press release. The case also carries a force sensor with swipe volume control, which Apple calls a first for the open-ear form factor. That combination is what…
AirPods 5 Head Gestures: Nod to Answer, Shake to Decline, and the Siri AI Connection
AirPods 5 let you reply to a prompt with a nod or a shake of the head, Apple confirmed in today’s press release. The head-gesture feature arrives on both the $129 AirPods 5 and the $149 AirPods 5 with Wireless Charging Case, which pre-order today and reach stores on Friday, September 18. The gestures sit…
AirPods 5 Live Translation: How It Works and What You Need to Use It
AirPods 5 support Live Translation, Apple confirmed in its press release today, placing the feature alongside hands-free Siri AI and head-gesture replies as the software additions on its $129 and $149 open-ear earbuds. Pre-orders opened today, September 9, with stores stocking the earbuds on Friday, September 18. Live Translation was one of the features pre-event…
iPhone 18 Pro mmWave 5G and the C2 Modem: Why US Buyers Get a Slightly Different Phone
The iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max use Apple’s C2 modem, which Apple says uses 15 percent less energy than the C1X. mmWave 5G is included in the US, and Apple has not listed it for any other country. Add the fact that the US model is eSIM-only with no SIM tray, and…
iPhone 18 Pro Wi-Fi 7 Explained: What the N1 Chip Changes for Your Home Network
The iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max use Apple’s N1 chip for wireless, which handles Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6 and Thread. Apple has not quoted any speed figures for the connection. Wi-Fi 7 is a label on the spec sheet for most buyers, so the practical question is what it does once the…
iPhone 18 Pro Recycled Materials Explained: 85% Recycled Aluminum, 100% Recycled Cobalt and 40% Recycled Content Overall
Apple says the iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max are built with 40 percent recycled content overall, including an enclosure made from 85 percent recycled aluminum and a battery that uses 100 percent recycled cobalt. The packaging is 100 percent fiber-based. Those are the four environmental figures in Apple’s release, and they are…
5 Reasons iPhone 18 Pro Is the Biggest iPhone Camera Upgrade in Years
The iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max keep the 48MP Fusion main camera but give it a variable aperture from f/1.48 to f/4, manual controls, Smart Focus tracking, faster Night mode and a set of new video features. For photographers, it is the most substantial change to an iPhone camera in several generations.…
Does iPhone 18 Pro Have a New Ultra Wide or Selfie Camera? What Apple Did Not Change
Apple did not announce any changes to the Ultra Wide or front camera on the iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max. Every camera upgrade in the press release concerns the 48MP Fusion main camera and its new f/1.48 to f/4 variable aperture. That is a change of rhythm. Recent Pro generations have spread…
AirPods 5 Battery Life: 5 Hours With Noise Cancellation, 22 With the Case, and What Changed
Apple says AirPods 5 last up to five hours on a single charge with Active Noise Cancellation switched on, and up to 22 hours in total once you count the charging case. The five-hour figure is one hour more than AirPods 4 with ANC, according to Apple’s press release. The extra hour matters because AirPods…
iPhone 18 Pro Cases and Straps: Clear Case, Silicone, FineWoven and Wrist Strap, With No Word Yet on a Crossbody Strap
Apple’s iPhone 18 Pro release lists four first-party accessories: an updated Clear Case, a silicone case, a FineWoven case and a wrist strap. Apple has not published prices for any of them. The design carries over from the iPhone 17 Pro generation with a new rear finish, so the accessories are refreshed rather than reshaped.…